Return to Headlines

November Board of Education Recognitions

Elliott poses with Cornett at the WCS Central Office.

The Board of Education honored member Jason Cornett with the Servant’s Heart Award. Watauga County Schools Superintendent Dr. Scott  

Elliott said Cornett was a true professional board member with a listening ear who had worked hard during his tenure handling issues

and concerns from his constituents with great personal commitment and positivity. Elliott said Cornett was among the most humble people

he’d ever worked with, who came to the board with a desire to serve his community and be a reliable representative and a voice for parents and



Jones with spelling bee winner Sam Nystrom.

District-wide spelling bee winner, Hardin Park sixth-grader Sam Nystrom was recognized by the board. Nystrom will go on to represent

Watauga County Schools at the regional contest in March. Pictured are Nystrom and Watauga County Schools director of middle grades education

Meredith Jones.


Scoggins with WHS Principal Dr. Chris Blanton.

The board recognized Watauga High School spanish teacher Carmen Scoggins who was recently selected as Appalachian State

University’s Outstanding Alumni of the Year. Scoggins was also honored with the Foreign Language Association of North Carolina

Honorary Life Member Award.


A large group of teachers who were award WEF grants pose with board member at the meeting.

The Watauga Education Foundation awarded grants to Watauga County Schools teachers from across the district, including: Angela Alexander, Tory Ward, Shelly Klutz, Jana Smith, Melody Roaden, Candace Trexler, Erin Ellington, Amber Dollyhigh, Stephanie Kostis, Brandon Winbush, Ashley Tate, Chelsie Eldreth, Denise Presnell, Genal West, Jobeth Gobble, Lindsay Postlethwaite, Sherri Hale, Callie Jarman, Ashley Greene, Susan Suddreth, Seth Freeman, Amanda Ward, Connie Peeler, Erin Scott, Amy Hiatt, Chris Watson, Grady McKinney and Donna Raichle.


GEAR UP Students with Directors Paul Holden and Laura Turner.

WHS GEAR UP coordinator Laura Turner and Student Services Director Paul Holden recognized a group of students who represented the

district at the national GEAR UP conference. Pictured are Turner, Holden and Leslie DeCuesta, Ben Styles, Grace McClure , Emma Shew,

Peyton Cline , Logan Sturgill , Abby Graham , Kyra Turner, Victoria Combs and Haleigh Lawson.